Fishing News

2019 Tommy Gifford Awards Ceremony

On October 31, 2019, the IGFA will bestow the prestigious Tommy Gifford Award upon six recipients in recognition of their extraordinary contributions to the advancement of sport fishing through innovation, outstanding catches or noteworthy examples of leadership in their trade. The Tommy Gifford Award is named for one of the greatest saltwater charter skippers of all time and recipients are selected through a rigorous process conducted by the Legendary Captains and Crew Committee chaired by Captain Skip Smith.

The Tommy Gifford Award Ceremony will take place during the 60th Fort Lauderdale International Boat Show (FLIBS) and will be held at the historic Riverside Hotel on Fort Lauderdale's famed Las Olas Boulevard.  

Please join us in celebrating the 2019 Tommy Gifford recipients:   Captains Peter Bristow, Bubba Carter, John Cross, Billy Knowles, Bruce Smith, and R.T. Trosset.   

When: October 31, 2019
6:00-7:00 PM: Cocktail Reception
7:00 PM: Dinner and Award Presentations
Where: Riverside Hotel 620 E Las Olas Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301  near the Fort Lauderdale International Boat Show     

Tickets include awards presentation, dinner and a Flor de Caña Rum Bar. Individual tickets are available for $100 each and table sponsorships with benefits begin at $1,500. You may purchase your tickets or sponsorship online by clicking here or contacting Michelle Andersen at 954-927-2628 or  

International Registration: For guests registering outside the US, please see click here to see our guide for quick and easy registration through the OneCause website.