Fishing News

WPBFC Announces Angling Trophy Winners

The venerable West Palm Beach Fishing Club (WPBFC) recently announced the winners of its prestigious annual trophies for the 2017 angling year. The awards, some of which date back more than 50 years, are highly coveted honors recognizing outstanding angling achievements.

The James P. Nora Award for the Heaviest Snook has been won by Fishing Club member, Colby Borland of Jupiter. Colby caught, weighed and released a 33-pound snook using a live sand perch off the Juno Pier on July 5th of 2017. The Nora Award has been presented annually since 1965, and has been awarded to Colby’s father, Gary Borland, in previous years.

The Tracy M. Schneider Memorial Sailfish Release Trophy has been won by WPBFC member Skylar Vallancourt of North Palm Beach. Skylar posted 29 sailfish releases on live bait to claim the club’s top sailfish release honor. “I’m lucky to live here and get offshore as much as I do. West Palm is a great spot to catch sails all year round,” said Vallancourt.

A previous Schneider winner, Jacob Lepera, shifted his focus from releasing sailfish and earned the WPBFC’s Richard Jeck Memorial Billfish Tagging Award. The club’s top tagging trophy has only been won on a few select occasions. A minimum of 20 tagged and released billfish is required to qualify for the trophy. Lepera surpassed the minimum and set a new club record for tags in a year, having tagged a total 42 Atlantic sailfish to win the award.

Susan McCart of Sarasota has won the WPBFC’s Beinecke Atlantic Blue Marlin Release Trophy, an award that’s been presented annually at the WPBFC since 1960. McCart released six blue marlin in the Bahamas last year fishing aboard her boat Absolut Joy with Capt. Matt Rabenstine at the helm. Her fishing was not limited to just the Bahamas and blue marlin. Susan was also awarded the coveted Donald S. Leas III International Angling Trophy for logging catches of blue marlin, white marlin, sailfish, yellowfin tuna and roosterfish during the 2017 angling year. “The Angling Committee was impressed by the variety of species Susan entered. Some of the best anglers in the club compete for this award; it’s always very competitive,” said WPBFC Chairman Pete Schulz.

To view more history on these prestigious awards and past winners visit: